Gale OneFile Periodical Collections provide researchers with instant access to complete, up-to-date, academic content on virtually any topic.  

Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.

Gale General OneFile is Gale’s largest general-interest periodical source. Most content in Gale General OneFile is full-text with no embargo and recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries and includes reference, newspaper, and audio content that complements the resource's robust collection of magazines and journals.

Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.

Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe with access to current full-text and pertinent backfile content. The database covers topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.

Publication Search:

Use the Publication Search to locate titles which center or feature diverse perspectives

• Search for publications by name or filter by attributes like subject, target audience, format and country 

• Once a publication has been selected, such as Whispering Wind, you can:
  • Learn about the publication details in the "About This Publication" section

• Create a Journal Alert to receive a notification when new content from this title becomes available
• Search within the publication for a specific topic or search term

​​​​​​

Topic Finder

This tool takes the titles, subjects, and approximately the first 100 words from a subset of your top results and feeds them into an algorithm. Keywords shown in the graphics are the topics found most often in the text with your search term [Red = more returns, green = less].

For a research question such as "Why does Social Media seem to disproportionately impact the mental health of young women and girls?" the Topic Finder can help researchers quickly locate highly related, targeted results. For example, searching for "young women and social media" within the Topic Finder will bring up a broad array of related topics, such as "body image", "health" and "girls". Clicking on one of these broader topics, such as "girls" will provide a short list of highly relevant articles such as those listed below. Navigating through multiple tiles within the Topic Finder allows you to quickly locate a manageable number of articles highly relevant to the chosen topic and sub-topic. 

• It's Not the Right Way to Do Stuff on Facebook: An Investigation of Adolescent Girls' and Young Women's attitudes Toward Sexualized Photos on Social Media
• Why don't I look like her? How adolescent Girls view social media and its connection to body image.

Search results provided within the Topic Finder are meant to be both highly relevant and diverse in perspective. Clicking on an article will provide the article content, as well as author and publication name. Examining and researching both the author(s) and publication is encouraged to develop an understanding of the perspective provided within the content as well as any potential implicit biases.

Full-Text, Current Coverage OneFile Titles with Diverse Perspectives

*not an exhaustive list of available related titles*

• Arrows For Change:  A bulletin that addresses women's and gender perspectives in health policies and programs in the Asia-Pacific region.
• Canadian Woman Studies: Features up-to-date issues on a wide range of global issues and their impact on the lives of women in Canada and around the world.
• Equality and Women's Economic, Social and Cultural Rights: Provides information on political science, civil rights and women's interests.
• Feminist Studies: Presents scholarly interdisciplinary research, essays, art, book reviews, and poetry, fiction, and creative narrative pertaining to the feminist experience in the social sciences, history, politics, and literature. Seeks to illuminate and improve conditions for women in the world.
• Hecate: A scholarly journal focusing on the liberation of women. Has a Marxist perspective on wome.'s experiences in Australia. Contains research articles, literary analysis, interviews, editorials and creative works with a feminist bent.
• Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies and Gender Issues: An international, interdisciplinary forum for the innovative work being done in Jewish women's and gender studies. It creates communication channels within the Jewish women's and gender studies community, and includes articles on literature, text studies, anthropology, archeology, theology, contemporary thought, sociology, the arts, and more.
• Pakistan Journal of Women's Studies: Alam-e-Niswan: Covers women’s studies research and feminist scholarship globally. Publishes articles relating to scholarship in the field of women’s studies and feminist knowledge.
• Strong Proud Sisters: Girls and Young Women with Disabilities: A report that documents the needs and resilience of disabled girls. Examines definitions and demographics, access to health care, substance abuse, exercise and sports, depression, self-esteem, eating disorders and body image, disability identity, role models and media images, social and sexual development, violence, educational equity, and employment.
• Wagadu: Provides information on the role of women in the family, community, country, and planet,

• Journal of the Critical Ethnic Studies Association: This journal explores the histories of colonialism and conquest, racial chattel slavery, and white supremacist patriarchies.
• American Journal of Chinese Studies: Provides current developments on a wide range of subjects including: socio-political, economic, educational, cultural, linguistic, and other China-related comparative studies.
• Australian Aboriginal Studies: A scholarly journal publishing original research on the cultures and lifestyles of Australia's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Content includes studies, research reports, news briefs, and reviews of books and films. This is the official publication of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS).
• Conflict and Society: This journal expands the field of conflict studies by using ethnographic inquiry to establish new fields of research and interdisciplinary collaboration. An opening special section presents general articles devoted to a topic or region followed by a section featuring conceptual debates on key problems in the study of organized violence.
• Contemporary Southeast Asia: A quarterly refereed journal of international scope, published by the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISAS). Provides information on events, developments and trends in regional politics, international relations and security questions affecting Southeast Asia and the Asia-Pacific region. Publishes the results of original research contributed by scholars and other analysts
• Cultural Analysis: An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to investigating expressive and everyday culture. Features analytical research articles, notes, reviews, and responses.
• Gender: Provides information on gender studies in Israel.
• Journal of Gender and Social Issues: Publishes information on gender and social issues.
• Journal of Hate Studies: The Journal of Hate Studies is an international scholarly journal promoting the sharing of interdisciplinary ideas and research relating to the study of what hate is, where it comes from, and how to combat it. It presents cutting-edge essays, theory, and research that deepen the understanding of the development and expression of hate.
• Whispering Wind: Magazine covering historical events, crafts, and material culture of the American Indian.
• Wicazo Sa Review: Scholarly journal covering Native American studies.

• African Studies Quarterly: An online scholarly journal covering African studies.
• Africa: A scholarly journal devoted to the study of African societies and cultures. Editorial emphasis is placed on an interdisciplinary approach to African studies by the inclusion of topics in social sciences, history, the environment, and life sciences. Each issue has six major thematically grouped articles with extensive bibliographies and abstracts in both English and French. This is the flagship publication of the International African Institute (IAI).
• Africa Insight: Africa Insight is an independent publication which promotes insight into the process of change in Africa. Coverage includes a wide range of diverse topics: political trends and events, democratization, economic issues, regional cooperation, international relations, conflict resolution, aspects of education and training, health hazards, community development, food security, and institutional capacity building; provides a rich kaleidoscopic overview of Africa and its countries.
• Afro-Americans in New York Life and History: A scholarly journal that presents original research on the life and history of African Americans in New York State. Issues such as race relations and racial attitudes are addressed. Includes reviews of books in the subject area. For students and academicians.
• Diverse Issues in Higher Education: Provides a source of critical news, information and insightful commentary on the full range of issues concerning diversity in American higher education.
• The Western Journal of Black Studies: Covers a wide range of disciplines that focus mainly on the experience of African Americans in the United States of America. Publishes articles that contribute new knowledge and understanding to the field of Black/African American Studies and the African diaspora.
• Women, Gender, and Families of Color: Centers on the study of Black, Latina, Indigenous, and Asian American women, gender, and families within history, the social and behavioral sciences, and humanities. Includes comparative and transnational research, and analyses of domestic social, political, economic, and cultural policies and practices within the United States.