Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress (Gale Archives Unbound)

The records in this collection represent the files of the national office of the Congress, based in New York City, including several hundred case files; publications produced and received by the Congress; files of the Literature Department; Executive Director William Patterson's correspondence files; correspondence and other materials from Civil Rights Congress chapters around the country, including case files of the New York chapter; and files of the New York headquarters of the Communist Party of the United States of America, created during the trial of twelve Communist leaders, 1948-1949, including two black members, Benjamin J. Davis and Henry Winston, consisting of correspondence, transcripts, legal briefs, and printed material.

Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman (Gale Archives Unbound)

Fannie Lou Hamer was an voting rights activist and civil rights leader. She was instrumental in organizing Mississippi Freedom Summer for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and later became the Vice-Chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, attending the 1964 Democratic National Convention in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in that capacity. Her plain-spoken manner and fervent belief in the Biblical righteousness of her cause gained her a reputation as an electrifying speaker and constant activist of civil rights.

The Fannie Lou Hamer papers contain more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items. The papers are arranged in the following series: Personal, Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, Freedom Farms Corporation, Delta Ministry, Mississippians United to Elect Negro Candidates, Delta Opportunities Corporation, and Collected Materials.

Women's Studies Archive (Gale Primary Sources)

The Women's Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women's political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women's voices, from female-authored literature to women's periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale's Women's Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women's History, Gender Studies and Social History.

Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers (Gale Primary Sources)

The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers is an archive dedicated to the ACLU, the principal defender of the rights that citizens can assert against their government for most of the twentieth century. ACLU files featured in the collection include bills; legal briefs; correspondence from concerned parties such as those objecting to military service belonging to religious or political groups, or union organizers and members; court documents; legal case files; memorandums; minutes from meetings; newspaper clippings; reports; scrapbooks; and telegrams. The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers is split into two parts: Part I, 1912-1990 and Part II, Southern Regional Office.

Civil Rights and Social Activism in the South - James A. Dombrowski and the Southern Conference Educational Fund (Gale Archives Unbound)

This collection consists of Dombrowski's correspondence and papers as leader of the Southern Conference for Human Welfare, 1941-1948, and executive director of the Southern Conference Educational Fund, 1948-1966.

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos and images. Scholars can utilize this resource to locate timely and current articles discussing voting rights, voter suppression and more from authoritative academic journals as well as popular periodicals like Newsweek, the New Yorker and the Economist. 

In Context: U.S. History (Gale)

Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection allows researchers to track the history of voting rights on the United States through academic journals, reference content, news articles, videos, audio files, and more. 

LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: LegalTrac provides indexing for major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including titles in full text. The American Association of Law Libraries not only endorses LegalTrac—its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.