Let's Talk!
If you have questions about using Gale LibGuides or A-to-Z list import files, please feel free to reach out to Gale's Academic Outreach & Engagement team. We are happy to help you customize, copy, share and upload materials to your Institution's site.
An introductory survey of the field of Abnormal Psychology. The focus in the first part of the course will be on theoretical and empirical approaches in the study of abnormal behavior. In the latter part of the course, the focus will be on the description, classification, etiology and treatment of specific psychological disorders.
Click on the excerpt below to learn more about how abnormal behavior is classified:
Click on the images below to learn more about the approaches and theories in the study of abnormal behavior:
Diathesis-Stress Model Psychoanalysis
Resource: Gale In Context: College Resource: Gale In Context: College
Resource: Gale In Context: College Resource: Gale In Context: Science
College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.
Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.
Browse disorder overviews that provide a description, diagnosis criteria, causes, and treatment for commonly studied psychological disorders:
For more topical overviews and reference articles related to Psychology, explore The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology Vol. 1. 4th ed. Click the book below:
Gale Health and Wellness is a comprehensive consumer health database offering access to authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Features include topic portals with curated content on diseases and conditions; drugs; diagnostics and tests; and therapies, treatments, and surgeries; as well as a broad collection of premier full-text reference works, including Gale exclusives such as The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets.
