Apply natural language processing tools to raw text data (OCR) from Gale Primary Sources in a single research platform. By integrating an unmatched depth and breadth of digital primary source matter with the most popular Digital Humanities (DH) tools, Gale Digital Scholar Lab provides a new lens to explore history and empowers researchers to generate world-altering conclusions and outcomes. The Digital Scholar Lab offers advanced humanities computing tools that make natural language processing (NLP) for historical texts accessible, more efficient, and impactful, thus expanding the footprint of digital humanities across campus.

Perhaps the most highly regarded news resource in the English language, this collection spans over 222 years and over 3 centuries. An essential resource for the study of all areas of history and literature. Differentiator: Very fact-driven, free of images. “Newspaper of record” targeted toward upper echelons of society. Published in the U.K.

The Daily Mail Historical Archive includes more than one hundred years of this major UK national newspaper, viewable in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories, and images that capture twentieth-century culture and society. Subjects for research, teaching, and learning with the Daily Mail Historical Archive include: World War I and the Daily Mail’s influence on the British government in 1916; the history of women’s representation in news including being the first paper to hire a female war correspondent ; coverage of the annual Ideal Home Exhibition, which the paper founded in 1908 and continued to sponsor until 2009; insight into the political issues that preoccupy the grassroots of the Conservative Party in Britain due to the Daily Mail’s typically conservative audience; the sensationalizing of crime stories and reporting of high-profile cases; and what analyzing the development of advertising over time reveals about a given period, as well as contemporary society.In addition to the regular newspaper, the Daily Mail Historical Archive also includes the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the cruise ships that sailed between New York and Southampton from 1923 to 1931. These editions published different content to the regular London version of the paper and contained articles specifically commissioned for the journey, with a heavy emphasis on American content.