Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents.

With Archives Unbound, users can engage with primary sources by selecting the Explore Topics list, where they can browse available collections within a pre-filtered research topic, and other advanced search features including a wide range of search indexes, term frequency, and term clusters in order to uncover the research path that best suits the user’s needs.

You can search across all 400+ collections using the widget below, or access collections that have been specifically categorized for research in the health sciences field by clicking the links further down on this page.

This collection documents the varied research and policymaking career of Pope A. Lawrence, an environmental health specialist with the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare and the Public Health Service. His papers contain a wealth of primary source research materials and scientific data related to: environmental and industrial hygiene; radon activity; use of beryllium as a rocket propellant; uranium mining; and toxicological, biological and chemical weapon systems.

This collection contains briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings documenting the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome from 1983-1994 during and in response to the AIDS crisis.

This collection provides extensive documentation on a variety of presidential programs and initiatives. Agency and departmental records include: Department of Agriculture; Department of Health, Education, and Welfare; Department of Housing and Urban Development; Endowment for the Arts; National Endowment for the Humanities; Office of Economic Opportunity; Office of Education; and Veteran's Administration. The archive is based on the film title Administrative Histories of the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidency, Health, Education and Welfare.

The collection deals chiefly with the subjects of drug addiction, alcoholism, juvenile delinquency, and mental health. This collection consists of correspondence, reports, documents clippings, reprints and photos; and include these correspondents: Clifford W. Beers, Rupert Blue, F. A. Carmelia, Hugh S. Cumming, Robert H. Felix, Richmond P. Hobson, Adolph Meyer, W. F. Ossenfort, Thomas Parran, C. C. Pierce, Carleton Simon, Walter L. Treadway, and Lloyd H. Ziegler.

In this collection are included two early books on the history of the Chinese Press in Shanghai, a directory of the newspapers and periodicals published in the city, as well as a pamphlet relating to the staff provident fund of North China Daily News & Herald Ltd., publisher of the most famous English newspaper family with the longest run in China. These are all valuable material for researching the history of modern Chinese press.

Reports of the Charity Organization Society of New York - This collection facilitates study of the crisis in urban development faced by the United States in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The Charity Organization Society was at the center of reform work, and its reports provide a detailed account of living conditions and describe investigations of health, industry, delinquency, insanity and crime.