"This course is an introductory survey of the field of Abnormal Psychology. The focus in the first part of the course will be on theoretical and empirical approaches in the study of abnormal behavior. In the latter part of the course, the focus will be on the description, classification, etiology and treatment of specific psychological disorders."

Click on the excerpt below to learn more about how abnormal behavior is classified:          

Click on the images below to learn more about the approaches and theories in the study of abnormal behavior: 

Diathesis-Stress Model                                                                          Psychoanalysis 

                 Resource: Gale In Context: College                            Resource: Gale In Context: College 

Gestalt Therapy                                                                               Psychosurgery

                  Resource: Gale In Context: College                          Resource: Gale In Context: Science    

College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.

With Gale OneFile: Science, researchers can remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. Full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Browse disorder overviews that provide a description, diagnosis criteria, causes, and treatment for commonly studied psychological disorders: 

• Anorexia
• Antisocial Personality Disorder
• Anxiety
• Antisocial Personality Disorder
• Bipolar Disorder
• Borderline Personality Disorder
• Bulimia
• Delusions
• Dissociative Disorder
• Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder
• Paranoia
• Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
• Schizoid Personality Disorder
• Schizophrenia
  • Video: Researchers Use Virtual Reality to Diagnose Schizophrenia

For more topical overviews and reference articles related to Psychology, explore The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology Vol. 1. 4th ed. Click the book below:

Gale Health and Wellness is a comprehensive consumer health database offering access to authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Features include topic portals with curated content on diseases and conditions; drugs; diagnostics and tests; and therapies, treatments, and surgeries; as well as a broad collection of premier full-text reference works, including Gale exclusives such as The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets.