Gale Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Gale Primary Sources takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets.

Gale's Nineteenth Century Collections Online unites multiple, distinct archives into a single resource of over 100 types of primary source documents. Content consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Because some documents are rare and in delicate or extremely fragile condition, Gale coordinates closely with curators and preservationists to maintain the originals. With authoritative content, extensive bibliographic information, and innovative technology, Nineteenth Century Collections Online is positioned to revolutionize research on the nineteenth century.

Please note: Nineteenth Century Collections Online is presented in a modular, topic-specific format that enables libraries to customize their holdings to meet a variety of research needs. To that end, there are twelve separate parts available. Your institution may have access to all, some, or only one of these parts. To confirm, check with your instructor or librarian.

• Asia and the West
• British Politics and Society
• British Theatre, Music, and Literature
• Children's Literature and Childhood
• Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture
• European Literature, the Corvey Collection, 1790-1840
• Maps and Travel Literature
• Photography
• Religion, Reform and Society
• Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part I
• Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II
• Women and Transnational Networks

Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. With more than 240 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 6.4 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements. This collection illuminates diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years.

 From 1841 to 1992, Punch was the world's most celebrated magazine of wit and satire. From its early years as a campaigner for social justice to its transformation into national icon, Punch played a central role in the formation of British identity—and how the rest of the world saw the British nation. With approximately 7,900 issues (200,000 pages) from all volumes of Punch from 1841 to 1992, including Almanacks and other special numbers (issues), as well as prefaces, epilogues, indexes, and other specially produced material from the bound volumes, the images in the archive appear as originally published. Gale's Punch Historical Archive is the only full archive of Punch available digitally for this time period.