The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender dating back to the sixteenth century. With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in this collection present important aspects of LGBTQ life. Researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
Apply natural language processing tools to raw text data (OCR) from Gale Primary Sources in a single research platform. By integrating an unmatched depth and breadth of digital primary source matter with the most popular Digital Humanities (DH) tools, Gale Digital Scholar Lab provides a new lens to explore history and empowers researchers to generate world-altering conclusions and outcomes. The Digital Scholar Lab offers advanced humanities computing tools that make natural language processing (NLP) for historical texts accessible, more efficient, and impactful, thus expanding the footprint of digital humanities across campus.
Explores the history of the environment and conservation efforts across the globe from the late 1800s onwards. Environmental History: Conservation and Public Policy in America, 1870-1980 documents the emergence of these concerns from different aspects of conservation and environmental public policy in North America in the modern era. The archive concentrates particularly on the role of various government agencies, conservation organizations and individual actors who pioneered the study of the natural environment and campaigned for its protection.
Political Extremism and Radicalism provides insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources. Content supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and much more.
Provides access to millions of pages of primary sources, academic journals, periodicals, and eBooks. The sheer breadth of the package—combining proprietary e-reference content from Gale, Journal Citation Report (JCR)—quality periodicals, literary criticism, and full-text literary works as well as rare primary source content from the vaults of the world’s great libraries—covering nearly every discipline, means that every student and researcher will find a rich store of relevant information to enhance their learning and research.
Alternate Name(s)
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Archival collections were sourced from more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, Bibliothèque nationale de France, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University; these collections allow for unparalleled depth and breadth of content. Split into four parts: Debates: Slavery & Abolition; Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Institution of Slavery; and Age of Emancipation.
New from Gale
Loading...
The following resources are newly published from Gale.
Provides access to millions of pages of primary sources, academic journals, periodicals, and eBooks. The sheer breadth of the package—combining proprietary e-reference content from Gale, Journal Citation Report (JCR)—quality periodicals, literary criticism, and full-text literary works as well as rare primary source content from the vaults of the world’s great libraries—covering nearly every discipline, means that every student and researcher will find a rich store of relevant information to enhance their learning and research.
